Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Opa! June 18, 2007

Filed under: Getting my Martha On — booksunread @ 12:44 pm

One of my friends recently started a dinner club.  I know a couple of the other women in the group, but everyone else is a long time friend or relative of hers.  It rotates who hosts it each month and it’s a pot luck.  Last month, it was held on May 5th, so we had a Cinco De Mayo theme with Mexican food.  I hosted this weekend and decreed the theme to be Greek/Mediterranean.

Only about half the group could come, so there were just 5 of us, but I went way overboard with the planning and too much food.  I love nothing more than “getting my Martha on” and I usually go way overboard…I made:

  • A variation on beer can chicken on the grill (with a can of wine, herbs and lemon instead of beer)
  • saganaki (it’s cheese! and you light it on fire!)some quasi-spanikopita (Amy’s Naturals frozen feta and spinach pockets. I resisted the urge to make my own…I always get all hyped up to do everything “right” and “from scratch” and then I get all rushed and pissy trying to get it all done.)
  • blue cheese stuffed dates, wrapped in prosciutto (I’m not sure if the blue cheese and proscuitto strictly fit the theme, but the dates are close enough and this is yummy!).
  • cucumber and tomato salad with feta and greek vinaigrette
  • sangria (again, not quite on theme, but the only other greek drink I can think of is Ouzo, which seems like a bad idea to mix with cheese on fire. Plus, I hate black licorice.)
  • dolmades (stuffed grape leaves; picked these up on a whim at Wild Oats; I don’t particularly care for them, but I figured some of the other girls would like to try them.)

Everyone else brought:

  • Hummus with pitas
  • Veggie and feta tray
  • Olive tray and baba ganoush
  • Milk pie (galaktoboureko-a custard and filo desert)
  • Assorted cookies, tarts, pastries and baklava

Everything was fantastic. We stuffed ourselves and hung out and generally had a good time. 

I also got my crafty on with a lime vase floral centerpiece idea I got out of Good Housekeeping (I am fifty years old).  I was pretty pleased with how it turned out.

flower lime 

Next month’s theme: Cheese!

 

Leave a Reply

