Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mmm, leaky August 9, 2007

Filed under: ?Baby? — booksunread @ 12:38 pm

I felt crampy and uncomfortable for the rest of the day yesterday.  Today I felt downright crappy.  Kinda of nauseous, reflux-y, crampy, gassy.  I don’t know if it’s from all the drugs, or anxiety or what. But it makes me less than excited to be jamming more hormones up my who-ha. 

I had a mild panic attack regarding the prometrium last night as there is a big ass warning printed right on the bottle that says “Do not take if you are pregnant or trying to become pregnant.”  The pharmacy assured me that use after IUI was common, that was just a general warning and that the doc knew what they were doing in prescribing it.  You think the doc’s office would have warned me to ignore any such warnings.

There was also a complete lack in the Rx information as to exactly how I was supposed to be using these things.  All I got was a bottle of capsules; I was expecting an applicator, a little instruction for how far up to put them, or something. 

A little internet searching assured me that many others were taking it after IUI, and also provided the helpful “one finger length” insertion instructions. (Eww! I know, sorry!)  I also learned that g.d., there are a lot of morons out there with access to a computer in the infertility forums.  There are all these incoherent rambling posts completely devoid of any punctuation or rational thought.  It very nearly made my brains leak out of my head.

Of course, I am out of pantyliners and had to grab a bulky pad leftover from the miscarriage as the internets also told me that this wasn’t going to be pretty.  So, oh joy, two weeks of being leaky and gross.  Miguel asked this morning if we could still be doing it while we were waiting.  I’m not sure if medically we’re supposed to, but I can tell you he is not going to want to when he finally works out what vaginal suppository means.

I feel a little better since eating breakfast, but still wish I could just go home and pull the covers over my head.  Unfortunately, I’ve got work that has to be completed and my brother and family arriving this afternoon.

 

Leave a Reply

