Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Prometria is Gross August 14, 2007

Filed under: ?Baby? — booksunread @ 12:24 pm

Tomorrow it will have been a week since the insemination. I’ll have one more week to get through before I can test.  Last Thursday, the day after the insemination, I had a really violent reflux attack.  I felt kind of crappy when I left for work and by lunch time I was ready to cry. I started a phone convo with a vendor and had to get off the phone because I literally could not open my mouth to speak, the bubble in my throat was so bad. 

I called the doctor’s office and they said that it could be brought on by the stress, and/or by the residual effects of the ovidrel shot. I didn’t think it was the prometrium as I was already feeling bad before I started taking it Thursday morning. 

They prescribed some Reglan, which I’ve had before for reflux problems.  I’m not sure if it helped much because I was pretty much miserable for the rest of the day.  I managed a two hour nap, and then had to put on a happy face for my guests and suffer through dinner at Unos (I managed to choke down a breadstick).  Friday I felt much better, more like a minor hangover stomach, and by Friday evening I was completely back to normal.

Using the prometrium is a different story though. It is very gross to have to insert the suppository and then deal with leakage all day. I’m going through several pantyliners a day and just feel gross all the time.  I don’t want to stand for long periods, because that speeds it up.  Any time of exercise or exertion makes it worse, plus then you’re kind of all sweaty and gross. It’s like having a permanent yeast infection. I wanted to go to the pool this weekend, but had to pass as I can’t very well wear a pantyliner in the water.  Plus, I’d probably leave an oil slick trailing behind me.  (I know, so gross, sorry! But hey, at least it’s not happening in your undearwear).  Hopefully, I do get pregnant and this discomfort will have been worth it. Also hopefully, my natural progesterone levels will be high enough that I can discontinue the suppositories sooner, rather than later. 

I’m trying not to get my hopes up too high for this cycle.  There is no guarantee that it will work, and in fact a 90% chance it won’t.  I know that Miguel will be frustrated if it doesn’t work and I think he’s getting annoyed with my gentle nudges back to reality-like I’m being pessimistic and will jinx it.  Who knows, one more week will tell for sure…

 

Leave a Reply

