Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Here We Go Again September 19, 2007

Filed under: 15 Tons,?Baby? — booksunread @ 12:07 pm

I started my chlomid for IUI cycle #2 yesterday.  A week from Thursday (day 12), I will have the ultrasound to see what my follicles are doing; assuming all is good, the IUI will be the following Saturday. Lucky Miguel; no time off work to whack, that should make him happy.  I feel cautiously optimistic about this cycle; the doctor is much more reassuring, Miguel is taking better care of himself and I’m doing everything I can with the acupuncture.

The second acupuncture session was not as relaxing as the first…I even brought soothing music to block out the ambient noise, but I never did doze off or fully relax.  For starters, my left (and only the left) earbud kept sliding out for no g.d. good reason except that earbuds suck a fatty.  And then it was that same frustrating cycle of when you’re trying to fall asleep at night when you know you have to be up early, but the more you will yourself to go to sleep, the more you can’t help the panicked, “oh my god, 6 more hours to sleep! Go to sleep! Oh my god, 5 hours, 39 minutes more to sleep! I have got to fall asleep!” spiral of doom. I think I shouldn’t have had a caffeinated soda that afternoon.  I’ll give it another shot this week, and see how I feel after.

In work news, I finally have an offer out to a new assistant.  I’m supposed to hear today if he accepts our offer.  I really hope he does.  I’ve been hiring to fill this position since March. I’ve been through two rounds of applicants, and this is it from this round.  I do not want to have to repost the job again.  For starters, thinking about the flood of illiterate, ridiculous applications I’ll have to wade through makes me want to cry.  Secondly, I don’t want to give the ex-assistant the satisfaction of knowing that we still haven’t filled her position.  So, fingers crossed. 

In life news, Miguel and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary last weekend. Our present to ourselves was a driver for the night to take us downtown to Mortons.  We had an excellent dinner and then strolled around downtown, popping in and out of various bars until our driver came to pick us up.  Judging by the haphazard trail of clothes, shoes and jewelry strewn all over the bedroom (because we were drunk, not ripping each others clothes off, pervs!), we had a lot a fun.

 

Leave a Reply

