Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Technical Difficulties October 9, 2007

Filed under: 15 Tons — booksunread @ 1:13 pm


Man, we are off to crap start to this week.  My new computer arrived last week (after much ridiculousness with FedEx all “We don’t have your suite number.” “Okay, it’s …”  “No, YOU can’t give us your suite number, you must call Hewlett Packard and have them give it us.”  “ohkay…”  Ring , Ring “HP customer service, this is um, Joe, I am totally NOT in India right now. No we can’t change it in the system now that it’s on the truck, no we can’t call FedEx for you, how about you go to your local FedEx location and hang out there and see what happens…”).  Anyway, we all know by now that new technology and the curmudgeonly old lady inside me do not get along.  So I let it sit all week before tackling the setup late Friday afternoon. I gave myself an hour and half before quitting time to get it set up.  So not even close.
I got it all out of the box and plugged all the bits and pieces in the right places, which I am quite proud of, thank you very much.  Then I called in IT to do all the computery loady thingies taking off the suck Vista and replacing it with the OEM version of XP we bought instead.  And because that screwed up all the drivers and stuff and HP doesn’t give you software and system recovery back ups on CD (a fact which took IT a long time to accept, rather than his preferred hypothesis that I had thrown them out with the box), it took all freaking morning to get set up. 

Meanwhile, I finally got fed up and hooked up my old laptop and docking station in the empty office next door (yes, empty, as in there is no new employee in there, we’ll get to that clusterfuck next).  And then, the gd mouse won’t work anymore on my docking station, ARG! So I got approximately zero work done yesterday.  Now I am trying to get everything all set up back to the way it was before with all the toolbars and display settings and programs and whichimawhosits I had before.  It did not help that IT would do like 2% of the job and then skip off.  The rest of the afternoon went something like this:

Beep: Yeah, hi, can you set up my e-mail accounts?

20 minutes later

Beep: Yeah, hi, can you map my network drives?

20 minutes later

Beep: Yeah, can I have permissions so I can load the rest of my software? Thanks.

Jaysus.


I still don’t have sound, IM is the weird version that gives you credit card fraud advice at the start of every convo and won’t let you post a cute picture and I can’t uninstall and reinstall it, and my Outlook interface is making me crosseyed because the folder list is so small and I can’t figure out how to get the little thing showing your calendar and shit to display. Sigh.


Last Monday, my new hire was due to start.  After 6 months of searching, testing, interviewing and many disappointments, we finally settled on a candidate we thought would do a good job for us.  I scheduled him to start about a week and half after he accepted our offer, on the first of the month.  That morning, at 7:30 my phone rang, and I could see his number on the caller ID.  I thought, please, please let him be having car trouble, or sick, or lost or not able to come in today but will start tomorrow.  Any of those things would have been preferable to what actually happened.  He was calling to tell me that he had another offer come in late Friday afternoon, and after much agonizing he was going to take it because it was a more creative position that he felt was a better fit.


I couldn’t even get very  worked up at this point, honestly.  I think I might have laughed a little. I have been frustrated at every turn during this hiring process because of my company’s hiring practices.  I’ve had to turn down several well qualified candidates that would have worked well, because of largely irrelevant criteria determined by the powers that be. I’ve lost candidates to other offers because of heel dragging outside of my control.  I am on my last nerve.  It took me 8 months and 3 rounds of recruiting to fill this position last time.  I’m on track to beat that record this time.  I decided to only work with recruiters this time around.  I talked to a good half dozen of them last week.  I’ve gotten ZERO resumes so far.

 

One Response to “Technical Difficulties”

  1. Melina Says:

    very interesting. i’m adding in RSS Reader


Leave a Reply

