Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I am FREAKIN’ MacGruber! October 30, 2007

Filed under: Daily Grind — booksunread @ 1:06 pm


Big fat middle finger to Samsung and their ear bud only accessories and their exclusionary square flat plug that won’t fit any other brand accessories. I have triumphed! What you see below is the elusive combination of speakers, with a voice mic, on a wired headband. 
phone 

After weeks of fruitlessly searching for a compatible accessory , I finally decided to refine my original idea of attaching the earbuds to a standard pair of headphones.  Instead of electrical tape though, I figured, I could bust out the speakers that came in it, and hot glue the earbuds to the inside of the plastic shell, then replace the foam pads.

I bought a $5 pair of headphones, pulled off the foam covers, and was delighted to discover the speaker pieces literally popped right out.  Then I took a Dremel tool and widened the little notches in the plastic shell where the original wires came out the bottom, to accommodate the wider stems of the earbuds.  Then, to anchor them in place, I realized I didn’t even need the hot glue. The original speaker parts were made up of two pieces, the actual speaker and the rim which snaps onto the plastic shell.  I separated the two pieces and put the rims back on the shell, pinning the earbuds in place. 

ear close up

With the foam pads back in place, they are completely comfortable and totally functional.  I am so impressed with myself, I can not even tell you!

 

3 Responses to “I am FREAKIN’ MacGruber!”

  1. maybelle76 Says:

    I am speechless at your ingenuity!

  2. booksunread Says:

    Hee. Like my ghosty place mats? 🙂

  3. Salsera Says:

    you are crafty! are you sure you are not a mormon?


Leave a Reply

