Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Feelings February 5, 2008

Filed under: ?Baby? — booksunread @ 6:58 pm

After my dramatic pronouncement that if I wasn’t writing here, something is wrong, wrong, WRONG, I guess I better post something so that your imaginations don’t run away with you!  I will warn you that I am very busy this month, with at least one trip every week for the next three and two the week of Valentine’s Day.  That means, when I’m in the office I had better be getting some work done.  So posts may be a little sparse.

Right now I’m a day short of 17 weeks. Your Pregnancy Week by Week assured me that starting at week 16, I might be able to start feeling wee baby moving around in there.  Of course, this happens in a range of weeks for different women, so it’s possible I might not feel much until 20 weeks, even.  I know from the ultrasounds wee baby is having a non-stop dance party so I’m figuring I will feel movement sooner rather than later. 

The problem is, I’m not sure what I’m looking for.  Some books describe it as “tiny bubbles” (the fuck?), and I’ve read multiple times that most women confuse feeling movement with gas at first.  Since I’m only doing this once, I want to be able to identify when wee baby is saying “Hi” and enjoy it for as long as possible. 

I have been having intermittent kind of sharp, I wouldn’t say pains, but it’s definitely more than a tiny bubble feelings in my lower belly.  They seem to concentrate in one area for a couple of times in a row, and then other times they’ll start up in a completely different area.  It doesn’t really seem like gas pains…but I can’t say for sure, “Yeah, that is wee baby right there.”  Also since they are all over the place-on the far right side of my stomach, the middle, the far left side, it’s hard to imagine it could all be wee baby, unless there is quite a bit of sloshing around in there.

I was reading Jenny McCarthy’s Belly Laughs and she was like I was sitting on the couch and I knew immediately I had just felt the baby move.  And so I’m panicking, like what if wee baby is tapping out a message in Morris Code and I am missing it?!?!  I am a bad mother!  So I’m hoping that something much more identifiable happens here soon.  I’ll feel like a big dummy if what I am feeling is wee baby moving and it took me three weeks to figure it out. 

 

3 Responses to “Feelings”

  1. TwinMommy Says:

    OMG Girl…hush yourself! I was told women started to feel the baby around 14wks and I didn’t feel them until 23+ and I’m having two!!! Around 29wks I started to feel them regularly. I did feel a few bubbles at the beginning but nothing to write home about. I’m measuring over 40wks now and it HURTS when they move (which is all the time)…so count your blessings now!

  2. booksunread Says:

    I know towards the end I will be all “ow. STOP kicking me!” but right now it’s all still so exciting and new! I’m pretty convinced now that what I’m feeling is wee baby taking a tumble and who’s to say any differently, anyway? 🙂 If that’s what I think it is, then that’s what it is…

  3. TwinMommy Says:

    Also- I’ve never felt them have the hiccups though they’ve had them at least 6x while I’ve been monitored. The nurses start giggling and saying how cute that Baby A or Baby B has the hiccups…I just stare at them wondering why they get to figure that out before me! Some women feel them all the time…maybe you will! Guess what- I’m measuring 43 weeks preggo now!!!


Leave a Reply

