Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Return of the Food Log March 5, 2008

Filed under: ?Baby?,Battle of the Scale — booksunread @ 2:13 pm

When I first got pregnant, I was looking forward to enjoying eating what I wanted.  For the first time in my life, I planned to each as much of the stuff I loved, without feeling guilty about how “bad” it was and what I should be eating instead.  Although whenever anyone commented on it, I was quick to assure them that I wasn’t going to overdo it because I didn’t want to be sorry at the end when I had 60 pounds to take off.

And then the lifting of the first trimester indifference to chocolate collided with girl scout cookie season and easter candy availability and I sort of lost my mind for a little while there.  Like eating 5 or 6 cookies at a time, multiple times a day, on top of a Cadbury egg or two and some ice cream at night.  When I plowed through almost an entire package of Oreos in a week, I knew something had to give.  Not to mention, all of the sweet eating meant I wasn’t getting in all the good stuff I should be eating for the baby. 

So, I have brought the food log out of retirement to help keep track of what I am eating and give me some accountability.  It helps to see it all laid out in front of you to say, “damn, I really ate 25 cookies that day and I only had 2 pieces of fruit.”  I’m not cutting out the chocolate, candy and ice cream completely, because seriously, only time in my life I’m going to be able to eat like this, but I am going to limit it to a more reasonable daily consumption. 

I’ve also started going back to the gym.  In addition to going to Yoga more consistently and swimming, I did a 50/50 cardio class (keeping it all low impact) and did not die. In fact, I felt really good after.  I’m doing the class again tonight.  I also hope that spring is fast in coming so that it’s warm enough to walk regularly and for longer periods soon.

So, with any luck, I will finish out the second half of my pregnancy healthy and strong, and be able to get back into shape fairly quickly after wee baby gets here.

 

Leave a Reply

