Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wishful Dreaming… April 14, 2008

Filed under: Pregnancy — booksunread @ 2:46 pm

I dreamed about Wee Baby last night, which was the first time in a while.  It was a pretty short dream and mostly consisted of the fact that he slept blissfully through the night within a couple days of bringing him home (and also, for some weird reason we had him all swaddled in paper towels, including his little head).  This probably has to do with the fact that my friend asked me yesterday if I’d read the Babywise book she recommended yet and I had to admit that I was kind of subconsciously planning on just winging it when he gets here.

It seems like after months of not much going on, everything is ramping up now.  My doctors visits have been moved up to every 3 weeks, with the dreaded sugar test looming next week.  Miguel is almost done painting the nursery; and then the mural painter comes in two weeks.  Then I will order furniture and can start washing and putting away wee clothes.  We’re all registered in May for the requisite classes-tour, orientation and a one-day childbirthing blitz, plus breastfeeding class for me.  I’m going home for my shower in just about a month.  Plans are being made at work for my leave and we’ve discussed options for my return at reduced hours.

And there is still so much to do! I have a couple of leads on daycare to follow up on and hopefully get locked into something for when I go back to work.  I need to pick out a pediatrician.  Apparently, I need to finish up with all the pregnancy books and get started on all the what the hell you do when the baby actually gets here books! I’ve started crocheting a blanket, and I need to get that done before my carpal tunnel gets out of control.  I need to shop for a stroller and decide what I’m going to do about a breast pump.  And probably a million other things that I haven’t even thought of yet! 

I still have a ways to go, but I’m getting so excited for July to get here.  I can’t wait to meet WB.  Miguel and I were debating this weekend which genes were going to win out.  My mom’s side has some pretty dominant genes, with my brother and his kids looking very definitively like part of that family.  But Miguel’s side also has some hardcore genes; his brother’s kids all look like their dad and not at all like their mom, his sister’s kids are a bit more of a mix.  I hope we get a good ratio.  I want WB to have my nose on Miguel’s face with his cute little butt-chin and my blue eyes.  We are also hoping some recessive height genes kick in and make our boy tall.

 

Leave a Reply

