Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oh, Really? May 8, 2008

Filed under: Pregnancy — booksunread @ 11:24 pm

So I went to a class on breastfeeding last night. I have to say I did not learn a whole lot that I haven’t already read in various books and pamphlets. I was hoping for some good local info/resources, as well as specific reccomendations on best schedules to transition to the bottle. I think I would have been better off with a one on one appointment with a lactation consultant.

Anyway, one thing that made me laugh; the instructor went around the room asking if everyone had taken childbirthing class and if you said “no” she confirmed that you were signed up to take one. One woman said “no,” and “no, I’m not signed up to take one.” The instructor tried to get to the bottom of this asking if maybe this was a second or third baby. “No,” the woman replied, “I’ve been a nanny for a number of years.” Really? Did you deliver all those kids? Because otherwise, what the hell does that have to do with not taking a childbirth class? I’m kind of sorry my turn had already come and gone, because I totally would have lied and said I wasn’t taking one because I’ve already watched a lot of Baby Story on TLC. What the hell?

 

Leave a Reply

