Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Right Foot May 30, 2008

Filed under: Pregnancy — booksunread @ 12:57 pm

Okay, so the swelling is starting to become problematic. It is a good thing it is sandal/flip flop weather now because there is no way I’d be fitting into real shoes at this point. Even my flip flops and wide-width sandals are leaving indents in the puffy skin. I fear we may be getting down to shower shoes as my only option here soon. I don’t even remember what my feet are supposed to look like anymore.

It starts off okay in the morning, but after a couple of hours of sitting at my desk, even with my feet propped up on a box, I can just feel them expanding. I can barely curl my toes under. It’s worse on the right side for some reason. By the end of the day, I’m a raving cranky bitch because I get home and have a ton of stuff I should be doing but can barely stand to be on my feet. I can’t sit at the computer any longer without risking my hands and feet going numb. I can’t stand long enough to cook anything decent, and I feel guilty for stiffing the dog on her walks. Oh, and I’m still trying to finish crocheting a blanky for the wee baby. Luckily, my hands are no where near as bad as my feet and I can get a couple rows in each night as I put my feet up.

The advice I got last time this came up at the OB’s office was to watch my sodium and drink lots of water. My blood pressure and other indicators continue to be great, so it’s not too much of a concern. It didn’t come up at my last visit since I’d been off work sick most of that week and it wasn’t bothering me as much.

Today, I’m going to drink water like it’s my job and hope that helps. Of course, the downside to this strategy is that it greatly increases the number of waddles I have to make to the bathroom, what with wee baby perched firmly atop my bladder. Yes, I am waddling now, between the tight puffy feet and the physical pain of my full bladder being squeezed, I gingerly wobble around. (I must have looked adorable yesterday, tottering down the sidewalk with the dog, trying to hold my belly up off the bladder I had just. emptied. but which now felt full to capacity again.)

I can’t believe I have 7 more weeks of this. In the big scheme of things, I suppose it’s not too bad. I’m certainly not at the point where I’m moaning 24-7 “this sucks, I want it to be over” because as anxious as I am to meet wee baby, I still have a lot of work to wrap up and want him fully cooked when he shows up! I think I’m just worried how much worse it’s going to get as we go along here. I don’t want to get taken off work/put on bedrest before the baby gets here; I was planning on working pretty much up until I deliver. I guess if that does happen, we will just have to bite the bullet on buying a laptop and wireless router so that I can keep up as much as possible from the couch.

Sigh. Anyway, cross your fingers for me (since mine are too puffy to cross myself) and think slimming thoughts. Meanwhile, god help me, I have to draft an article on laser induced breakdown spectroscopy today.

 

Leave a Reply

