Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Turkey’s Done! (Almost) June 6, 2008

Filed under: Pregnancy,Uncategorized — booksunread @ 12:34 pm

Last week I finally had to give in and take my belly button ring out. Up till now, I’ve just been kind of tucking the bead into my belly button so that the ring lies flat and doesn’t show through my clothes. Now that my belly button is stretching out and parts that were formerly on the inside are now on the outside, there’s really nowhere to tuck it. An inside out belly button looks very weird. I have no problem with it stretching out, I just hope it doesn’t stick up like an outie turkey timer; that would freak me out.

I suppose I could have put my straight bar back in there, but I’m not really all that worried about it closing up. It’s not like I’ve been running around crop tops and bikinis in even the last 5 years, Miguel never really liked it, so no one was really getting to “enjoy” it anyway.

I am at 34 weeks, so 6 more to go! Wee baby has been very squirmy the last couple days. I can sit here and watch my belly rippling pretty much nonstop all day. Beyond that, all the usual pregnant complaints…the baby is sitting on my bladder, causing me to feel like I have to pee all the time, even walking back from the bathroom after having just gone.

On the bright side, I’ve not gotten any stretch marks yet-on my belly. The tops of my hips, stretching around to my ass have not been so lucky. Despite the desperately optimistic slathering of daily coca butter, angry little red lines are starting to show themselves on the meatiest part of my flanks. They are threatening to encroach on my tattoo. That will be pretty. (Damn Samantha Harris and her perky “I used Palmer’s Coca Butter and I didn’t get a single stretch mark!” ads. Of course, that’s prolly because she started out a size negative 2 and only gained 12 pounds.)

And the swelling continues! It’s been hitting the 90’s the past few days and I am feeling it. I’m starting to wonder if it’s possible that I might lose a toe to due to lack of circulation. Usually, I start out semi-okay in the morning and it gets progressively worse throughout today. This morning, I could barely slide my fake, 2 sizes bigger than usual, wedding set on and typing and mousing at the computer is already uncomfortable after only being here an hour (all the more reason for me to not be fucking around writing this and getting my actual work out of the way before I lose the ability to bend my digits entirely).

At least the house will be air conditioned this weekend. Of course when we turned it on for the first time last weekend it did not work. During the day wasn’t so bad, but trying to sleep at night when it was still 80+ degrees in our bedroom was a special kind of hell. The motor has been replaced, so knock on wood it will last through another season and I won’t be stranded again without out when I’m 38 weeks and looking like the stay puft marshmallow man. Or god forbid, after we bring home wee baby!

 

Leave a Reply

