Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Done and Done! July 4, 2008

Filed under: Getting my Martha On,Pregnancy — booksunread @ 3:06 pm

Yay; I finished wee baby’s blanket yesterday! It’s all washed and ready for the hospital bag.

Behold:

It’s a little lopsided since I can never keep consistent tension from start to finish getting used to a new pattern. I always start off looser and then get tighter, but it’s made with love and that’s what counts!

It looks like I finished not a minute too soon, too. I have not been feeling good this week; by the end of the work day, I’ve felt just miserable and kind of nauseous and cranky. Like, Gordon Ramsey levels of pissed off at the world. Like, I could almost kick a puppy. Just nail chewing, fire spewing MAD.

At my visit yesterday, my blood pressure was up. When I asked the nurse what it was, she told me (can’t remember the numbers now), then said “She’s not going to like that; it may be enough for her to send you to the hospital.” And then she was like, the doctor will be in and took off. Meanwhile, I’m laying there thinking, “Send me to the hospital for what?! For more tests? To be induced and have wee baby? Whaat?” (Seriously, the effing nurses at this practice!)

So the doctor came in and was just as enigmatic, preferring to wait until we repeated my BP before saying what it might mean. She was impressed that I’d lost my mucus plug and had some bloody show; however the root and poke revealed that I was still only dilated a centimeter.

After lying down for a while, the nurse came back in to take my BP again and it was back down in the still elevated, but not alarming range. (Surprising considering I was sorta freaking out.) So no impromptu trip to the hospital yet.

Instead, they have me doing a 24-hour urine test. I guess they want to check my output and look for protein in my urine (a sign of preeclampsia). Starting this morning, I have to collect ALL my pee in a jug (to be conveniently stored in my fridge; anyone want to come over for a 4th of July bbq?). Tomorrow, I take it into the lab at the hospital, where they will also take blood.

The results should be in Monday morning and then we’ll know more. They may just monitor me more closely, they may end up inducing me. I’d rather not be induced since it often ends in a C-section, but at the same time, would love to have a set endpoint next week. I’m pretty much ready to be done with work; I’m going down to half days no matter what next week.

Oh and here is my belly at 38 weeks:

This might be the last belly pix!

 

4 Responses to “Done and Done!”

  1. maybelle76 Says:

    Rats! Can I change my guess on the due date? 🙂

  2. maybelle76 Says:

    oh and p.s. – the blanket looks great! I love that color green.

  3. booksunread Says:

    Thanks! It’s called pistachio (the green yarn).

    Andd…don’t change your pool date yet; nothing happening. Lab work came back okay, so as long as I remain headache and visual disturbance-free, they don’t want to see me again until Friday.

    Must make appointment for pressure point massage!

  4. TwinMommy Says:

    I hope you have someone (elaine???) ready to post a message on your blog when mr.baby arrives!!! I keep checking…


Leave a Reply

