Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You are my Destiny, Ooops I mean Destyni October 24, 2008

Filed under: Daily Grind — booksunread @ 12:18 pm

So this morning I was in the drive thru lane and in front of me was an SUV with the cutesy high school letters with their kids names on them.  They had two-one for Devon (not so bad) and one for Destyni (WTF?!?). That is not a typo.  Somebody thought it would be a good idea to not only name their kid something as cheesy as Destiny, but then they spelled it all jacked up. 

When I was teaching college, I had a “Chastidy” on my class roster. Unfortunately, she never showed up for class.

And while I’m at it, I really think those little car sports name stickers are kind of a bad idea.  I saw a little gymnast sticker one time and all I could think was that it was like advertising to pedophiles.  “My daughter’s name is Olivia. She’s very bendy! Come and get her!”

 

2 Responses to “You are my Destiny, Ooops I mean Destyni”

  1. maybelle76 Says:

    My sister told me (I’m not sure her source) that people who name their kids with a jacked up spelling did not go to college. I’ll have to find out where she got that info as I believe it to be true!

  2. booksunread Says:

    Yeah, you’d think, huh? But they were from the high school in my burb which is pretty upper mid-class, not what you’d expect at all.


Leave a Reply

