Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

30 Day Shred-Days 4, 5, & 6 January 19, 2009

Filed under: Battle of the Scale,Daily Grind,Schmooper — booksunread @ 2:34 pm

Man, I have never been so happy to see the back end of a weekend in my life!  It was crazy busy, I was basically running non-stop from sunup to sundown.  I had a To Do list a mile long, so every time Squidge went down for a nap, I was running around like a madwoman; cleaning, doing laundry, paying bills, cooking (I had to make a freezer meal to take to my new mom friend), etc., etc.  When he was up we were busy playing, eating, etc. On top of it, I was pretty much a single parenting most of the weekend. 

All of which makes me especially proud I did not blow off working out.  How can you make the excuse that you don’t have time for a 20 minute workout?  Or blowing off my to do list, for that matter. It just keeps growing and growing and I was determined to make a dent this weekend, no matter what.

Friday night, Miguel stayed at work late and wasn’t home during the usual 26 minute Baby Einstein/Shred window.  Usually he plays with Squidge and then is around in the kitchen eating dinner or in the office next door during Baby Einstein time.  Our workout room is in the basement, so I didn’t want to leave Squidge alone on the first floor in case he got fussy or needed something (which is rare, usually he doesn’t make a peep…how he remains so fascinated with a tape he’s seen approximately 50 bajillion times, I do not know). (Also, I said “tape” instead of DVD-I am old.)

Anyway, rather than take the excuse to skip, I moved the base unit to his monitor down to the family room, and took the receiver to the basement with me. Voila.  By the time I was done, Miguel was home and got in his Squidgey face time while I showered. Then it was time for bed.Saturday, I got an especially good workout.  I didn’t get a chance to consider working out until early afternoon, at which point Miguel was out running his errands and working out.  So when Squidge got up from his nap, I took his bouncy chair down to the exercise room with me. 

After about 3 minutes, he was not happy with not being the center of attention. So in addition to trying to follow Jillian as she kicked my ass, I had to distract him by making faces and singing.  During the “butt kicks” I was flailing about trying to gasp out the words to Itsy Bitsy Spider while doing the hand motions.  It was all very jazzercise.  But since it was only 20 minutes, we both made it through.

Sunday, Miguel woke up sick.  Fever, nausea, the runs.  I didn’t want that shit anywhere near Squidge so, I was a single parent all day.  I managed to fit in the workout and shower during a nap.

So now I’m pooped. but it’s a good kind of pooped.  Squidgey was in good spirits (for the most part) and we had a lot of fun playing and loving. He is killing me with his rolling and grabbing-he’s starting to figure out how to move himself towards stuff he wants.  I’m really satisfied and proud of myself for getting it all done-baby care, exercise, household chores. I felt like Super Mom.

Well, almost. At about 8 last night, it all kind of fell apart. The dog lost her mind at somehing outside, waking up Squidge.  Who in turn would not go back to sleep.  I’d get him settled, get back to what I working on at the computer and he would start up again. At that point, my frustration hit the boiling point-I was seriously considering checking the flower plot outside I use as an ashtray (for my occasional smoking) for a half smoked cigarette.  

So all in all, I am very happy to be at work today.  Not that I’m going to be lounging around here, but at least I won’t be interrupted by something screaming for something when I’m trying to get stuff done (I hope).

 

Leave a Reply

