Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Nope, Not Going Overboard-AT ALL! July 9, 2009

Filed under: Getting my Martha On,Schmooper — booksunread @ 12:39 pm

So Squidgey’s one year birthday is quickly approaching.  And originally, when people asked me what we were planning for his birthday, I answered, “I plan to give him a cupcake to smash and call it a day.”  We don’t have any family here, it’s not like he has a bunch of little one year old friends to invite to a party, and we don’t really have very many couple friends that have wee kidlets, so a party seemed like it would just be for us, not him and really, what was the point in that?

Also, I don’t know, I was raised with this attitude that to invite someone to an event was almost like putting someone out, or gift-grubbing, so you don’t invite the whole world, just close friends/family.  Like, you don’t invite your cousin whom you never speak to and lives 6 hours away to your bridal shower when you know there is no way in hell she’s going to travel in for it.  So you don’t invite mostly adults to a little kids b-day party.  And finally, I just think it is c-razy that the trend these days is to spend hundreds of dollars on favors, renting bouncies, dancing troupes and shit (I’m looking at you Tori Spelling), for a wee kid who is going to appreciate it about 10 dollars worth and would have been just as happy with a pinata made out of a cereal box.

But when I explained my no family, who wants to come to a kiddie’s 1st birthday party theory, everyone reacted with shock.  “I would come!” they exclaimed.  And also, Miguel really wanted to have one so here we are with a pancake party on the calendar for next Saturday.  We totally stole the pancake party idea from my SIL-good timing with Squidge’s naps, easy, low stress, can do a lot of it ahead of time, just a small gathering, nothing fancy.

But of course, I am mentally incapable of entertaining without getting my crazed Martha hat on.  No store bought invites for my kid; nay, I had to design something custom, a tradition I started with his birth announce and followed up with the Christmas card.  And once that was done, everything now had to coordinate.  And since it was a funky, custom design, it’s not like I could just run out and buy the Blue’s Clues party pack and call it a day. 

B-day blog

So as the party planning has gone on, it just keeps growing. The wee Martha in my brain keeps whispering ideas in my head. I’ve decided to make a cupcake-cake in the shape of # 1, and make cookies with colored m&ms that match the dots on the invite. (Which, did you know those fuckers are $5.99 at Michaels for a teeny bag and you can’t order less than 5 bags at $6.99 each PLUS shipping from m&ms.com?  How is it I can get a bag 3 times as large for like 2.99 of regular mixed m&ms but sort them by color and they’re suddenly priced as if they were hand painted.  They should be cheaper, they can skip the whole step of mixing the colors together!  Somebody should come out with chocolate covered candy coated “celebration dots,” sell them at half the price and smoke m&ms. /end rant)

I only spent an hour and a half online last night trying to find funky decor cupcake wrappers that match the party colors. (and mistakenly found reusable fabric MAXI PADS in a trio CUPCAKE patterned fabrics-WTF!!!!!?)  Then was all, “oooh, I have those edible cake decorating markers, I bet I can polka dot plain wrappers,” for 2 dozen cupcakes, you know, in my FREE time. WTF is wrong with me?

THEN, this morning in the shower, I was thinking about the menu, which includes fruit salad, and I flashed back to this: http://www.thisyounghouse.com/2009/07/patriotic-produce/ and was like, I can TOTALLY do that, except carve out a #1. And then I slapped some sense into my self. (but I’m still kind of thinking about it…send help!)

Just now, on my way back from a bathroom break, I started ruminating on how we could turn the kiddie pool into some kind of game for the kids…maybe fill it with green and blue balloons and have them dive for prizes or something?

I need a Martha-intervention!!!

 

Leave a Reply

