Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baby Steps September 30, 2009

Filed under: Schmooper — booksunread @ 1:23 pm

After weeks of stubborn disinterest, Squidgey is finally starting to take his first steps on his own!  Yesterday, he was standing with one hand on the back door when I went over to pick him up for dinner and he just let go and stumbled towards me several steps, giggling the whole way.  I’m pretty sure he had NO idea what he was doing.

Of course, he refused to repeat the trick on Skype for Salsera, despite me trying to tempt him with various normally forbidden objects (the phone, the remote) held juuuussst out of his reach.  All that produced was some really pissed off stomping and dramatic throwing of himself to the floor. 

Then this morning, he was holding on to our nightstand, and when I went to pick him up to take him downstairs, he turned and lurched into my arms once again.  Where is the camera when you need it?

I’m also pretty sure he used “mama” in a meaningful, non babbling way this morning.  He was in his playroom, making his usual grunting let me out whine at the gate and when I called that mama was coming, he replied by calling back “mama.” As in, “mama come get me.” 

Yay!

 

Leave a Reply

