Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bronze October 1, 2009

Filed under: Battle of the Scale — booksunread @ 2:10 pm

The 5K was Sunday and both Miguel and I took third in our categories.  Wheee! Of course, you have to take in to account the fact that I think there were only 5 or so runners in the women’s schmirty-something category.  Still, I beat a couple of them while pushing a stroller full of Squidgey.  Most importantly, I ran the whole thing without stopping, which was really my only goal.  I about fell over when they called my name during the medal ceremony.

Miguel, on the other hand, had actual competition. He came in third behind people who run triathlons for fun.  He also improved his time again this year, finishing in just over 21 minutes!  I finished 14 minutes later.  Which actually, when you think about it, I actually worked MUCH harder-he only ran for 21 minutes without stopping, I ran for 35 WHOLE MINUTES.

The run itself was a little rough. I felt like I was off rhythm from the start and was breathing hard well before the mile mark.  I had wanted to set my usual pace and not worry about what everybody else was doing.  But it was very hard not to get caught up in the pack.  I think that really affected how little I had to kick it up when the finish line was in sight.  I was REALLY sucking wind/wheezing by that point. 

So, it was a learning experience for my first 5K.  I did not feel like I was going to barf (for very long) after, and really I was minimally sore the next couple of days.  The route for the Shamrock Shuffle in March is the same, and I will be Squidge free, so hopefully I will improve my time some. 

It’s going to be hard though to keep training through the winter when I can’t run outside. I HATE running on the treadmill. I may have to get a community center pass so I can run on the indoor track there.  Somehow, my fancy schmancy Lifetime Fitness which is the size of 10 football fields does not have a track.

So I achieved half my goal-I ran the 5K.  The get into awesome shape part did not happen. Like, at all.  I only lost about 2 lbs-and that number is not low because I was gaining muscle.  It’s because all I was doing was running a few times a week (the 30 Day Shred dvd has not seen any action in weeks).  Meanwhile, the food log lasted about 3 weeks and then I was eating like I was going to the chair.  Sigh. Guess I need to recommit…again, some more…

 

Leave a Reply

