Books Unread, Jokes Untold-the pursuit of life

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Downward Spiral October 4, 2010

Filed under: Battle of the Scale,Daily Grind — booksunread @ 12:14 pm

I have been so, so bad lately.  I’ve put 5 pounds back on.  I probably ran 4 times the entire month of September. I didn’t get on my bike once.  I have been eating like a hog.

We went away for a weekend at the beginning of the month and it was all downhill from there. I traveled for work and combined it with a weekend visit to see a friend.  I came back to a computer virus and no IT support, essentially losing 3 mornings of work in the office trying to fix it myself.  I spent afternoons trying to get what I could get done at home before picking up Squidgey. IT finally came in to fix my computer Thursday.  I had to take off Friday because Squidgey’s sitter was closed.  I am so far behind I feel like I’m never going to catch up.  In two weeks, I’ll be away from my desk for another week, going for training in the UK.  So even if I do get caught up, I will be purely fucked again before the month is out.

So when facing several hours each evening in front of the computer, I find it hard to motivate myself to spend an hour of it working out and showering after Squidgey goes to bed.  It’d be nice if we could use our afternoons together to go for runs and to the park but we went from 95 degrees where it was too hot to cold and rainy. What the fuck, fall?  Could we get some 75 and sunny days?  I haven’t even had a chance to transition from sleeveless to short sleeves.  All of my long sleeves are crammed into bins in the basement, a wrinkled mess.

Every day I tell myself I’m going to get that workout in, I’m going to eat well.  And every night I find myself stuck in front of the computer doing tedious shit, looking for a snack to break up the monotony.  I’m tired. I’m behind. My pants are tight.  Monday sucks.

 

Leave a Reply

